The Solar System

*The Sun, Eight planets (excluding Pluto) and their respective satellites.

*Interstellar debris such as asteroids, meteoroids, comets.

*The electrically charged gases, called Plasma. Interplanetary dust particles.

*The components of solar system other than planets dwarf planets and satellites are called the Small Solar System Bodies (SSSB).

*The gravitational pull of the sun keeps all the planets and other objects revolving around it.

*Planets revolve around the sun in an elliptical orbit.

* In the solar system, the planet nearest to the sun is Mercury and the planet farthest from the sun is Neptune (and not Pluto).

* The solar system is dominated by the sun, which accounts for almost 99.9% of the matter in the whole solar system.

* Pluto is a dwarf planet.

* Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are called terrestrial planets and Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are called gaseous planets.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments